Walking Diary 2008

Click on the date or thumbnail to take you to the walk's photos and details. 

Blue - Peak District walks.   Purple - Lake District walks.   Green - walks in other areas

The numbers in red brackets indicate the order in which I have climbed the Birkett's. 

Individual fells in purple are Birkett fells, click on them to see fell details and pictures.

(CT) indicates the summit is a County Top, click on the link in gold to see summit details and pictures.

(OF) indicates a Wainwright Outlying Fell, click on the link in blue to see fell details and pictures.

(TP) indicates a Trig Point, click on the link in brown to see the trig points details and pictures.

 

Wednesday 10th December 2008

Ditch Clough Plantation - Alport Castles - Alport Bridge - Rowlee Farm - Rowlee Pasture - Ditch Clough Plantation
8 miles

612 metres



Tuesday 9th December 2008

Friden car park - Bolderstone Plantation - Long Dale - Gratton Moor - Kenslow Wood - Kenslow Knoll - Friden car park
5.5 miles

218 metres



Sunday 7th December 2008

Longwalls Lane
0.25 miles

0 metres



Wednesday 12th November 2008

Milldale car park - Alstonefield - Narrowdale Hill - Wolfscote Dale - Coldeaton Bridge - Mill Dale - Milldale car park
6.5 miles

341 metres



Tuesday 28th October 2008

Sir William Hill Road - Eyam Moor - Highlow Wood - Offerton Moor - Smelting Hill - Abney Moor - Bretton Clough - Sir William Hill Road
10 miles

539 metres



Tuesday 21st October 2008

Burnbanks - Pinnacle Howe (280) - Bampton Fell (281) - Four Stones Hill (282) - Measand Beck - Burnbanks
5 miles

353 metres



Monday 20th October 2008

Coldfell Road - Burn Edge (278) - Swarth Fell (Kinniside) (279) - Nannycatch Gate - Flat Fell (W) - Coldfell Road
4.75 miles

368 metres



Sunday 19th October 2008

Bowder Stone car park - King's How on Grange Fell (276) - Brund Fell (277) - Puddingstone Bank - Bowder Stone - Bowder Stone car park
4 miles

485 metres



Saturday 18th October 2008

Brumston Bridge - Sale Fell (272) - Rivings (273) - Lothwaite (274) - Chapel Wood - Burthwaite Heights (275) - Ling Fell - Brumston Bridge
4.75 miles

492 metres



Thursday 9th October 2008

Birchen Edge car park - Birchen Edge (TP) - Jack Flat - Bar Road - Baslow - Chatsworth - Birchen Edge car park
5.25 miles

260 metres



Thursday 2nd October 2008

High Peak Junction - Birch Wood - Bolehill (TP) - Big Plantation - High Peak Trail - High Peak Junction
4 miles

406 metres



Sunday 21st September 2008

Corney Fell Road - Buck Barrow (266) - Great Paddy Crag (267) - Kinmont Buck Barrow (268) - Burn Moor (269) - Plough Fell (270) - Corney Fell Road - Stoneside Hill (271) - Corney Fell Road
5.75 miles

323 metres



Saturday 20th September 2008

Blea Tarn car park - Blake Rigg (261) - Long Crag (262) - Pike O'Blisco (263) - Cold Pike (264) - Great Knott (265) - Oxendale - Side Pike - Blea Tarn car park
8.25 miles

1004 metres



Monday 8th September 2008

Gatesgarth Farm - Fleetwith Pike (256) - Black Star on Honister Crag (257) - Grey Knotts (258) - Brandreth (259) - Haystacks (260) - Scarth Gap - Peggy's Bridge - Gatesgarth Farm
7.25 miles

914 metres



Sunday 3rd August 2008

Castleton car park - Lose Hill - Hollins Cross - Mam Tor (TP) - Limestone Way - Cave Dale - Castleton car park
8.25 miles

539 metres



Wednesday 30th July 2008

Yorkshire Bridge Inn lay-by - Win Hill (TP) - Hope Brink - Hope Cross - Ladybower Reservoir - Yorkshire Bridge Inn lay-by
7.25 miles

431 metres



Thursday 24th July 2008

Surprise View car park - Mother Cap - Over Owler Tor - Hathersage Moor - Burbage Brook - Upper Burbage Bridge - Burbage Rocks - Burbage Bridge - Owler Tor - Surprise View car park
6 miles

312 metres



Saturday 19th July 2008

Moor Lane car park - Cales Dale - Ricklow Quarry - Lathkill Dale - Conksbury Bridge - Alport - Bradford Dale - Moor Lane car park
10 miles

459 metres



Sunday 13th July 2008

National Trust car park - Lambourn Valley Way - Whitehorse Hill (CT) - The Ridgeway - Britchcombe Farm - Woolstone - National Trust car park
4.5 miles

174 metres



Wednesday 2nd July 2008

Woodland Fell Road - Great Burney - Little Burney - Mawthwaite Moss - Woodland Fell Road
2.5 miles

206 metres



Tuesday 1st July 2008

Gummer's How car park - Gummer's How - Gummer's How car park
1.25 miles

146 metres



Monday 30th June 2008

Bowness Knott car park - Bowness Knott (249) - Brown How (Ennerdale) (250) - Herdus (251) - Great Borne (252) - Gale Fell (253) - Starling Dodd (254) - Little Dodd (Ennerdale) (255) - Bowness Knott car park
8.25 miles

822 metres



Sunday 29th June 2008

Birker Fell Road - Rough Crag - Water Crag - Devoke Water - Birker Fell Road
3 miles

156 metres



Saturday 21st June 2008

Old Glossop - Doctor's Gate Path - Pennine Way - Bleaklow Head - Wildboar Grain - Cock Hill - Old Glossop
9.5 miles

525 metres



Thursday 12th June 2008

Whatstandwell Station - Cromford Canal - Wakebridge - Crich Mount (TP) - Wakebridge - Cromford Canal - Whatstandwell Station
5 miles

212 metres



Friday 16th May 2008

Greendale - Buckbarrow (245) - Glade How (246) - Cat Bields - Seatallan (247) - Middle Fell (248) - Greendale
6 miles

817 metres



Thursday 15th May 2008

Three Shires Stone - Wet Side Edge - Hell Gill Pike (241) - Little Carrs - Great Carrs (242) - Swirl How - Great How - Brim Fell - Coniston Old Man (CT) - Dow Crag - Buck Pike - Brown Pike - Walna Scar - White Maiden (243) - White Pike (244) - Walna Scar Road - Long House
8 miles

851 metres



Wednesday 14th May 2008

Jubilee Bridge - Harter Fell (238) - Demming Crag (239) - Horsehow Crags (240) - Hardknott Fort - Jubilee Bridge
4.5 miles

637 metres



Tuesday 13th May 2008

Irton Road Station - Miterdale Forest - Irton Fell - Whin Rigg - Illgill Head - Burnmoor Tarn - Boat How - Boot
10 miles

801 metres



Sunday 11th May 2008

Woodend Bridge - Hesk Fell (232) - The Pike (233) - Holehouse Bridge - Bigert (234) - Whitfell (235) - Stainton Pike (236) - Yoadcastle (237) - Woodend Bridge
8.5 miles

771 metres



Saturday 10th May 2008

Eskdale campsite - St Catherine's Church - Stanley Force - Underbank - Doctor Bridge - St Catherine's Church - Eskdale campsite
5.25 miles

239 metres



Thursday 8th May 2008

White Lodge car park - New Plantation - Brushfield - High Dale - Miller's Dale - Water-cum-Jolly Dale - Upperdale - Monsal Dale - White Lodge car park
6 miles

381 metres



Wednesday 7th May 2008

Firestone - North Lane - Chevinend - Midshires Way - Duffield - Midshires Way - Hazelwood Hall Farm - Firestone
4 miles

100 metres



Tuesday 6th May 2008

Longnor - Green Lane - High Wheeldon (TP) - Earl Sterndale - Dowel Dale - High Edge - Chrome Hill - Longnor
8.75 miles

549 metres



Saturday 26th April 2008

Edale car park - Hollins Cross - Mam Tor (TP) - Rushup Edge - Brown Knoll (TP) - Noe Stool - Grindslow Knoll - Edale car park
10.25 miles

631 metres



Tuesday 22nd April 2008

Cat & Fiddle Inn - Goyt Valley - Errwood Reservoir - Fernilee Reservoir - Midshires Way - Windgather Rocks - Pym Chair - Cats Tor - Shining Tor (CT) - Cat & Fiddle Inn
12.25 miles

684 metres



Saturday 19th April 2008

Dennis Knoll car park - Stanage Edge - High Neb (TP) - Stanage End - Crow Chin - Dennis Knoll car park
4.75 miles

197 metres



Thursday 10th April 2008

Hell Bank Plantation - Rabbit Warren - Swiss Lake - Emperor Lake - Dobb Edge - Gibbet Moor - Rabbit Warren - Hell Bank Plantation
8 miles

248 metres



Tuesday 1st April 2008

High Peak Junction - Cromford Canal - Birch Wood - Bolehill (TP) - Black Rocks - High Peak Trail - High Peak Junction
6.75 miles

406 metres



Monday 31st March 2008

Milldale car park - Dove Dale - Ilam Rock - Dovedale Wood - Bunster Hill - Thorpe Cloud - Dove Dale - Milldale car park
6.75 miles

567 metres



Tuesday 11th March 2008

Grasmere - Easedale - Sourmilk Gill - Easedale Tarn - Sourmilk Gill - Easedale - Grasmere
5 miles

334 metres



Sunday 9th March 2008

Roehead - Barton Fell - Arthur's Pike (229) - Bonscale Pike (230) - Swarth Fell (231) - Loadpot Hill - High Street Roman Road - Roehead
8.5 miles

531 metres



Saturday 8th March 2008

Brumston Bridge - Ling Fell (228) - Brumston Bridge
1.5 miles

230 metres



Tuesday 4th March 2008

Moor Lane car park - Cales Dale - Monyash - Bagshaw Dale - Lathkill Dale - Conksbury Bridge - Alport - Bradford Dale - Moor Lane car park
11.5 miles

469 metres



Monday 3rd March 2008

Manystones Lane - Harboro Rocks (TP) - High Peak Trail - Longcliffe - Rainster Rocks - Limestone Way - Manystones Lane
5 miles

268 metres



Wednesday 27th February 2008

Curbar car park - Curbar Edge - Froggatt Edge - Nether Padley - Tumbling Hill - White Edge Lodge - Lady's Cross - Barbrook Reservoir - Ramsley Reservoir - Jack Flat - Baslow Edge - Curbar car park
10.5 miles

369 metres



Sunday 24th February 2008

High Peak Junction - Middleton Top - Minninglow - Friden - Parsley Hay - Dowlow
17.5 miles

615 metres



1.75 miles

48 metres



Wednesday 6th February 2008

Clough House car park - Shutlingsloe (TP) - Macclesfield Forest - Ridgegate Reservoir - Bottoms Reservoir - Tegg's Nose - Macclesfiled Forest - Chapel Lane - Macclesfield Forest - Clough House car park
9.5 miles

732 metres



Monday 4th February 2008

Upper Burbage Bridge - Burbage Edge - Carl Wark - Higger Tor - Fiddler's Elbow - Upper Burbage Bridge
3.25 miles

207 metres



Wednesday 30th January 2008

Weag's Bridge car park - Beeston Tor - Throwley Hall - Rushley - Musden Wood - Carlton - Manifold Way - Weag's Bridge car park
8.25 miles

352 metres



Sunday 27th January 2008

Bowden Bridge car park - White Brow - William Clough - Sandy Heys - The Edge (TP) - Kinder Downfall - Kinder Low (TP) - Edale Cross - Oaken Clough - Coldwell Clough - Bowden Bridge car park
9.25 miles

637 metres



Saturday 12th January 2008

Hope car park - Win Hill (TP) - Hope Cross - Jaggers Clough - Nether Booth - Hollins Cross - Back Tor - Lose Hill - Hope car park
10.5 miles

694 metres



Wednesday 9th January 2008

Middleton Top - Middleton Moor - Middleton Top
2 miles

54 metres



 

<<Back to top>>

All pictures copyright © Peak Walker 2006-2016